In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Having finished the high school education, youngsters face up with their next challenge, starting university, which would have an impact on entire life. Giving one year off to academic education, is tough decision which both have advantages and disadvantages.

First of all, many people are not satisfied with their job. This can be mainly due to a rushed decision on Collage education. At the end of the 4 academic years in university, some people just understand that they are not educated in the field that they wanted to work for their entire life, while others may be luckier, who recognizes it during university years end change their preference of education.

Second, giving one year off to education, travelling, working, or doing something to notice your abilities and potential, can expose you to new ideas which in turn increases your vision, acceptance and flexibility. Although this can be done also after Collage education, it is harder, since there is huge social expectation to start a job, and join in to the labor force.

On the other hand, academic education have a pace, once you lose it, it is not easy to regain it. If this one year off can’t be used properly, someone might get confused, and lost in ideas, this in turn can lead to under performance for the entire life.

To sum up giving one year off, between high school and university is a decision which can be adventitious if used wisely and effectively, and clarify someone’s aims throughout his life, whereas, can also lead to underachievement if this year used carelessly.