The world natural resources are consumed at an ever-increased rate.
What are the causes of this situation? What are the solutions?
The overconsumption of natural resources has evolved as a major topic of concern in recent years. This
alarming trend is caused by a few factors, and it must be addressed by a number of definite actions.
The increasingly high level of exploitation of natural resources could be ascribed to a number of
reasons. The most obvious reason is the tremendous demand for resources in developing countries,
such as China and Brazil. The citizens of these countries are becoming increasingly wealthy, and they
may now afford a living standard that is associated with a higher level of resource consumption. A clear
example of this is the widespread use of cars among tens of millions of middle-income Chinese
nationals, which may have contributed substantially to the burning of oil on a global scale. Besides, the
over-dependence on natural resources, such as fossil fuels, is another significant reason to consider. In
Vietnam, for example, the majority of electricity is generated in thermal power stations, in which a vast
amount of coal is the burnt on a daily basis.
Some measures can be taken to mitigate the problem of over-consuming Earth’s resources. The most
practical measure at the moment is to reduce the demand for resources in developing countries. This
can be done by mass-producing energy-efficient products, such as hybrid cars, and selling these items
at a low price to citizens of these nations. If such a measure is implemented, these people may still
benefit from the modern living standard without over-consuming natural resources. Besides, the most
sustainable solution is to lower the reliance on natural resources by taking advantage of alternative
sources. For instance, wind and tidal power in the Netherlands, nuclear power in Japan and solar power
in the United States have all proven their efficiency in energy production. These forms of energy should
be used in other parts of the world as well, to minimise the global dependence on fossil fuels.
All the existing data provides a concrete foundation that the overexploitation of natural resources
derives from the strong demand in developing countries and the over-reliance on these types of
resources. Strong measures, such as reducing the aforementioned demand and making use of
alternative energy sources, must be implemented to tackle this situation.