Write at least 250 words.

In the past, most people lived in small villages where everyone knew everyone else. Nowadays, most people live in large cities where they only know a few people in their area.

What do you think were the advantages and disadvantages of living in a small com

These days, as a result of outgrowing population, lots of small communities in the past have changed into bigger ones. these changes have led to differences in how people live today, particularly in big cities compared to those who lived in the past. In addition, living in small communities had their advantages and disadvantages.

I believe there were two main benefits of living in a small community. Firstly, everyone could enjoy fresh air, better environment. they did not have to worry about pollution that could easily make them ill. While they were living in a fresh and clean environment, their average lifespan could be increased and more future generations in the community could learn from the experienced old. this would lead to preservation of community’s culture and knowledge about types of plants they should eat when they came into the jungle. For instance, a research done by Hong Kong University on small villages’ life in Asia in 2011 showed that four fifths of villages bears a strong resemblance among others. Secondly, everyone who lived in a small community would know each other; they became friends and paid some attention whether their neighbor was good or not, so that they knew the others well and could help someone if they were in trouble.

however, there were some disadvantages for those who lived in small communities such as small villages, remote mountain villages. First of all, they could not be provided with social services and infrastructures known as hospital services, public transportation, etc. For instance, if someone was seriously ill, it would take their family members much time to come to the nearest hospital which was mainly located in cities. Therefore, proportion of death risk when someone got seriously ill was high. What is more, deficiency in social services, especially in education also affects their children. they could not go to school and learn new things from the outside. According to a project done by Ministry Of education of Vietnam in 2010, approximately 80% of children in small communities could not go to school because of lack of schools or far school from their villages. Second, people from small places could not trade their local products with businessmen outside because of their inadequate and poor transport infrastructure. this is why the government should support and fund to build roads for trading.

In my view, living in a small community in the past had more disadvantages than advantages. they could not apply modern technology to better and enhance their life. however, having a good friendship in their community really helped each other when somebody got in trouble.