You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Read the following text from a book about staying single.

Over the last twenty years, there has been a huge increase in the number of people who remain single. Most people who live alone are young adults who postpone marriage into their late twenties, but some are in their thirties and forties. One reason they often give for staying single is that they have not met the right person. Others say that marriage involves too much commitment and responsibility, or that they prefer the single lifestyle.

Write an essay to an educated reader to discuss the causes of this trend and possible effects of this trend to the society. Include reasons and any relevant examples to support your answer. You should write at least 250 words. Your response will be evaluated in terms of Task fulfillment, Organization, Vocabulary and Grammar.

In recent years, there has been an increasing number of people who opt to stay single instead of getting engaged. Although noticeable, the influences of this tendency have not been realized by many residents. This essay will shed light on causes of this trend as well as its effects.

To commence with, being singleton has become more popular among young adults due to some reasons. First and foremost, some figures think marriage has too much commitment and responsibility. For instance, people must get along with their spouse’s family and visit their sibling whenever returning to the hometown. Moreover, they are responsible for childbearing and child-rearing after they have gotten married, which is such a stressful task as some people are really busy with their work. The second reason that leads to single status is that some opinions support remaining single in order to concentrate on careers. To be more detailed, they think that if they are alone, they could spend the majority of their time working and getting promotions. As a result, they could have a deserved salary and a sense of fulfillment.

All the causes above have led to several effects on both family and society. At first, it makes the population of their country aging which results in lacking human resources in their country’s labor market. Secondly, their parents would be so upset as they don’t have grandchildren. It can be clearly seen in single-child families if their children make a decision not to get married, those families must be living so lonely.

All in all, the above-mentioned factors have outlined the causes as well as the influences of this trend. Its causes should be taken into account. Government should be more aware of the impact of this issue in order to have feasible solutions for that.