You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

The personal information of many individuals is held by large internet companies and organizations.

Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There have been growing concerns regarding the fact that the private information of many individuals is being stored by large technology corporations such as Facebook or Tiktok. Personally, although storing personal data can be beneficial to both the users and the company, this comes at the cost of internet privacy and security, and the disadvantages outweigh the advantages in the long run.

The acquisition of personal data by large companies enables them to understand their users better. With the help of machine learning, information can be analyzed to help a company provide better services and customize its products to meet different customers' needs. Facebook, for instance, is known for using its users’ search history to show advertisements according to their interests. For the users, this is particularly helpful as the products they wish to buy appear right in front of their eyes, effectively increasing profits for sellers and enhancing satisfaction for buyers.

Nevertheless, in most cases, private information is collected without the user's consent, meaning it is near impossible for them to know what their data is being used for, which results in significant advantages. First of all, because companies are capable of selling their users’ databases to advertising agencies who can bombard the user with several advertisements regardless of platforms, the users’ comfort is compromised. It was not long ago when Facebook (the most popular social media up-to-date) was sued for violating consumer privacy laws by sharing personal data of users with third parties. Another risk that individuals face when having their data stored is that hackers may use the data they steal to blackmail and scam money. In some cases, banking information can be used to withdraw money illegally from the owners’ accounts.