You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

The personal information of many individuals is held by large internet companies and organizations.

Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There have been growing concerns regarding the fact that the private information of many individuals is being stored by large technology corporations such as Facebook or Tiktok. Personally, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages in the long run, for while storing personal data can benefit both the users and the company, this comes at the cost of internet privacy and security.

The acquisition of personal data enables companies to understand their users better. With the help of machine learning, information can be analyzed to help a company provide better services and customize its products to meet different customers' needs. Facebook, for instance, allows advertisers to reach their target audiences by tracking user behavior. On the other hand, this activity is particularly convenient to users as the products they wish to purchase appear right in front of their eyes.

Nevertheless, in most cases, private information is collected without the users' consent, meaning it is near impossible for people to know what their data is being used for. First of all, because companies are capable of selling their users' databases to advertising agencies who can bombard the user with several advertisements regardless of platforms, the users' comfort is compromised. It was not long ago when Facebook (the most popular social media up-to-date) was sued for violating consumer privacy laws by sharing users' data with third parties. Another risk associated with storing private data is that hackers may use stolen data to blackmail or scam individuals. Sometimes, banking information can be used to withdraw money illegally from the owners' accounts.

In conclusion, it is apparent that companies and their users benefit marginally from storing personal information. The advantages, however, are dwarfed by substantial disadvantages, including personal data security breaches and the annoyance from advertisements the user has to experience when they are online. Therefore, strict data privacy regulations should be introduced to protect internet users.