You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Children are the future owners of the country, so raising them to become civilised people in the community is extremely important. Some people think that is the duty of their parents, but some people think schools should handle this responsibility. There are strong views on both sides, which I will discuss now.

On the one hand, schools should have a responsibility to teach children to become useful citizens for society. In schools, basic skills and knowledge are the prime goals they pursue. Besides, they also teach their students social knowledge and life skills for being a part of civilised society today. For example, from primary school to high school, children are exposed to the subject of civic education. That subject helps them understand the morality of being human and how to live to become a good person.

On the other hand, parents also received enormous duties of educating their children because the family is the cradle for raising children to grow up, and children are products of their parents' discipline. Parents must create the best living environment for their children to properly integrate into society and not follow the wrong path or suffer from social evils. For example, according to a survey conducted by the University of Social Sciences and Humanities in 2020, about 70% of children are entangled in social evils due to not receiving adequate supervision from parents. Thus, discrediting the family and having them receive criticism from society can lead to depression and teen suicide.

In conclusion, I think families have primary responsibility for raising a child.