You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, it is important to raise children to be good people for society because children will build a more progressive and civilized society in the future. And a good education not only comes from family but also from school.

First of all, children are like a blank sheet of paper, they cannot distinguish right from wrong, but they have a high ability to learn and they often copy what their parents do hence parents become the first teachers of their children. Furthermore, infants spend about the first 5 years of their lives with their parents, and when they go to school, they still spend more time with their parents than at school thus young people are most influenced by their parents. In addition, parents are the ones who teach their children what to do and shouldn't be, teach them good habits and things that are the foundation of a good character such as respect for others, being responsible, obeying the rules,...

However, the school also has certain influences in forming a good personality for a child. In addition to teaching knowledge and basic skills, schools are like a microcosm of society. School is the place for children to experience and from those experiences, they learn how to co-operate with others and contribute to the community.

In conclusion, it would be an error to think that home or school is the only place to train a good person for society because both parents and school have an indispensable role in molding a people. Parents are the first teachers for a child, nevertheless, this task would not complete without school.