You should spend about 40 minutes on this task Write about the following topic Forests are the lungs of the earth Destruction of the world s forests amounts to death of the world we currently know To what extent do you agree or disagree Give reasons for y

We are now facing the pressing problem that millions of forests have been destroyed in recent years. Forests, namely the green lungs of the Earth, have their vital role, so I agree that deforestation threatens our lives.

The value of forests cannot be underestimated literally. As we know, human being cannot live without respiratory systems. So does the Earth. Thousands of green trees play the role of lungs absorbing CO2 and releasing O2. Moreover, forests are homes of wildlife and many genres of birds representing the biodiversity of our planet. Natural habitats are also the land growing several herbs, which bring for human precious traditional medicine.

Destruction of the forests comprises of several activities such as illegal and sustainable logging, hunting, forest fires, etc,… due to the rising demand for wood, fuel and land for farming. Commercial agriculture is the largest driver of deforestation. Imagine if we lose our lung of the Earth, it will produce significant greenhouse gas emissions. Furthermore, the ecosystem might be not as various as it was being before since the habitats of many species gradually decline. Lastly, unstainable logging causes erosion dramatically as well, which leads to natural disasters called floods. We will observe a prospect of movements of people to other places within the countries or across national borders.

In conclusion, forests seem to be organs of our bodies, so if they hurt, our bodies will respond straight away. Local authorities should address this problem as soon as possible by preventing illegal deforestation and raising awareness of local people about the value of our green lungs of the Earth.