Nowadays many people cannot read or write What problems does this cause What measures can governments take to solve these problems

Lower literacy rates have still existed in the developing world. This trend has devastating effects on populations everywhere. To address this issue, financial support and increasing the study opportunity for people who are not able to read and write are prior steps. This essay will examine the major effects and measures for this problem.

Firstly, the major effects of this are entirely negative. It is clear that people who cannot read and write could not enter into higher education, which deprives them of getting a decent job in the future. This leads to constraining the national development in terms of economy. Furthermore, illiterate people are likely to be cheated and manipulated. For example, in rural areas in Vietnam, hundreds of people have lost their properties as they trust in the fraud without reading official documents while transacting. Thus, as makes clear, these effects need to be countered to develop societies.

To tackle this problem, the government could subsidize the tutor fees for children, who do not have a chance to go to school or drop out of school due to poverty. As evidenced in the northern mountainous areas in Vietnam, the government annually spends a large amount of money from the national budget aiding local education, gradually alleviating the illiteracy there. Apart from caring for the future generation, supplementary classes have been opened to support illiterate adults, thereby helping them get to know words and other kinds of stuff. Thus, encouraging children to go to school via financial support and improving the ability of reading and writing of adults will be foremost measures of this problem.

Following this look, unfortunate trends in the developing world would make society become less thriving. It is hoped that in the near future these nations could decrease the illiteracy rate to a minimum percentage by these initiatives mentioned above.