Young people are often influenced in their behaviors and situations by others in the same age group. This is called “peer pressure”. Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the advantages?

Commonly, the young generations undergo peer pressure which forces them to endeavor to achieve what their counterparts do. From my viewpoint, although there are both benefits and detrimental impacts associated with this phenomenon, the positive effects on individuals should be more considered than the minor drawbacks.

On the one hand, trying to keep up with the success of friends might cause discontent and depression in young people. Indeed, because young people still do not understand deeply their true value and cannot figure out their passion in life as well, misleading comparisons with people of similar age, disorientation, and trying to follow the crowd are inevitable. This will become worse if they experience failures and feel inferior to others, leading to the fear of expressing themselves as well as potential - self-distancing from family and friends. This may be an alarming issue as the worst consequence that may happen is suicide and Japan is a typical example where 70% of suicide was among men aged 20-44.

However, although peer pressure is often associated with negative connotations, I suppose that it plays a crucial role in reinforcing positive habits and attitudes in social and scholastic aspects thereby fostering social mobility. When surrounded by peers who excel academically, and succeed in their careers, the young would be inspired to push their boundaries and strive for greater achievements. For instance, in top-tier universities where almost all students are good at academic fields and soft skills, positive peer pressure fosters each individual to broaden their horizons, improve their skills, and ultimately become comprehensive citizens contributing to social development. In contrast, if there is no comparison between other people, adolescents might stay backward in continuously developing society as they have an illusion about their accomplishments and do not spare more effort, hindering the sustainable development of society in the future.

In conclusion, I opine that the positive aspects of peer pressure trump the negative ones. As long as young people are consulted to be clear about their values, and only focus on beneficial influences, they can thrive in their personal and social lives.