Young people are often influenced in their behaviours and situations by others in the same age This is called peer pressure Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the advantages

It is undoubted that there are a lot of arguments about the effect of “peer pressure” on youngsters. From my perspective, this phenomenon can lead to both benefits and drawbacks.

On the one hand, young generations’ being affected by others can bring out some obvious advantages. First, “peer pressure” is (more) likely to help the youngsters (to) effortlessly blend into the new community and alleviate the gravity of social isolation due to/thanks to some similar characteristics and hobbies. Moreover, “peer pressure” can make a valuable contribution to boosting the cooperation and solidarity among students in the learning process through teamwork and discussions. Finally, the young try their best to not only improve themselves but also to achieve an ambition. In this ways, their determination is emphasized.

On the other hand, “peer pressure” also results in some adverse demerits. There is no denying of that the omnipresence of this circumstance would make the young people become more envious and allocate their time and money to keep up with their friends. Some girl students, for instance, squander their tuition on buying a first-class handbag like the one their friends have. Furthermore, it is certainly true

that youngsters are bound to find it hard to express their distinction and creativity when they are in a group in which everyone is the same because of being afraid of boycott and abomination.

In conclusion, it seems to me that peer pressure can lead to some significant merits to the young besides (some) inevitable setbacks. As a result, young people should know the best ways to take advantage of this phenomenon.