Young people who commit crimes should be punished the same as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this hustle and bustle, some people argue that juvenile offenders should receive the same prison sentences that mature people did. Personally, I strongly oppose the idea of this view due to other better solutions for them.

To begin with, the first reason for this claim is that imposing adult sentences on young criminals might devastate their future. This is because after being released from prison, juvenile people have difficulty in correcting their mistakes and getting life back together. As a result, they easily follow in their footsteps and certainly commit crimes again. In other words, young ex-prisoners who suffer from being estranged from school, peers and society, which make them quit to become a good person.

On top of that, it is obvious that everyone makes mistakes in their whole life, particularly in juvenile people who is rebellious age. This means that young lawbreakers have immature and impaired perceptions, resulting in impulsive behaviors. Therefore, they deserve a second chance at rehabilitation by means of a warning or to rehabilitation programs, rather than large convicts. Take law in Vietnam as an example, juvenile criminals committing minor crimes, are sent to a reformatory for about 1 to 2 years depending on the seriousness of the offense.

To sum up, for the reason I have mentioned before, I strongly contend that young people who engage in criminal activities should be sent to prison the same as adults. I believe that giving a chance to juvenile offenders to learn and to rethink past mistakes could be a better solution.