Young people who commit crimes should be treated the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that juvenile criminals should be punished in the same way as adults. However, I disagree with this point of view because of two main reasons, the first one is that adolescents are not mature enough to comprehend the gravity and consequences of their actions, and the second reason is a higher possibility of the young committing more crimes.

First of all, it is irrefutable that young individuals’ mental capacity is not fully developed to be aware of their actions and negative results. This means young people are more likely to act impulsively and to be easily influenced by their peers and negative environments. For example, a group of children ganged up to beat up one of their classmates because they felt that he was a threat to them. Under the law, this act is attempted murder, but these boys do not know that ganging up to bully someone can lead to their death. Therefore, because of their ignorance, the punishment for the action should be minimal compared to that of an adult who has knowledge to comprehend his action.

The second reason for not applying the same punishment for both young and adult criminals is that juveniles are no doubt impressionable, which explains the possibility of them adopting violent behavior during jail time with dangerous adult criminals. This poses a larger threat to the society once these young offenders are released, since there are chances that they will commit more serious offenses. Take the case of a 16-year-old boy for instance, he was sentenced to two years in prison for burglary and assault. During his incarceration, he learnt new criminal skills and techniques from older inmates. After he was released, he continued to commit more serious crimes and was eventually arrested again and sentenced to life imprisonment.

In conclusion, criminals at young ages should not be treated the same way as mature ones due to the fact that they are not fully aware of the serious consequences and harsh punishment for their offenses, as well as the higher chances of them committing more serious crimes in the future.