Young people who commit serious crimes such as a rubbery or a violent attack should be punished in the same way as adults.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Juvenile delinquency is becoming an increase concern. Some people claim that lenient sentence can not curb the major crimes. As far as I am concerned, I can not totally agree with this.

The reason of advocate of harsh punishment is that the practice is feasible way to deterring the young criminals from reoffending. Besides, it is extremely unbiased for those victims if criminals who commit the major crimes get rid of the serve sentence only because the criminal’s age are still young. Heinous acts should be punished regardless of the age. Moreover, the youngest offenders would not realize the serious after effect of their behaviour and leave the victims and their families sufferings without the strict punishment. So the simply solution is treat them as adults if the crimes they commit are every bit as heinous as adults.

However, juveniles don not have the same physical and mental condition as adults. Therefore, the punishment would not have much effect on them. What is more, they may not have the adequate endurance for the server penalty because that may destroy their whole life and future. Compared to the adults criminals, the young ones are have greater possibility to reestablish the value, return to normal life and even shift gears to become leaders of certain areas. Also, they are more capable of learning from mistakes. Once they understand the consequences of their acts and the desired goal of life, they rehabilitate much faster.

In conclusion, I believe the naive and young as criminals are, for the sake of long-term social benefits, rigorous education and chances should be offered to them. However, if they cross the bottom line of laws again, there is no excuse for them to escape from the equivalent penalty as adults.