the advantages and disadvantages of the shopping in supermarkets

It is true that opening of massive shopping complexes are becoming increasingly popular. Whether or not this is good thing for the people to shop from malls instead of small shops is debateable. On the face of it, the advantages seem most apparent, but could there be a downside to this phenomenon of having large complexes as well?

Lets begin with by looking at the advantages of opening new shopping centres. One of the main positives of a mall is that it promotes economic growth. What I mean by here is that they opens up lot of new jobs and helps the local economy. Since super markets attract a larger number of consumers, so the area surrounding them also tends to develop.

Secondly, supermarkets have made shopping easy and hassle-free. When a customer can buy all what they need from one shop, they save time and money. They don’t have to go from shop to shop looking for canned rice or bottle of milk. It is this convenience that makes supermarkets popular with customers.

Turning to the other side of the argument, supermarkets have certainly made small shops redundant. Many of them have shut down because they cannot compete with a big store that sells just about everything at one roof. So while super markets provide jobs to some people, they also cause loss of employment for some others.

All things considered, it is clear that this situation is not as straightforward as it first appears. You need to weigh up the pros of economic growth, people comfort and so on, and the cons of redundant of small shops and impulse shopping. Personally, I believe the benefits in term of entertainment eventually out weigh any negatives.