These days more and more people are going to other countries for significant period of time, either to find a job or to study.

There are clearly many benefits to doing this, but people who live abroad can faces some difficulties.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living and working in a foreign country.

It is true that many people leave their country to travel overseas for work and study and it is increasingly getting popular. Whether or not this is a good thing for an individual is debateable. On the face of it, the advantages seem most visible, but could there be a downside to this phenomenon of moving abroad as well? I will discuss some of the reasons why travelling overseas is so popular and some of the challenges to overcome.

Lets begin with by looking at the advantages of moving abroad. One of the main positives of travelling overseas is that it broadens your horizons. What I mean by that is that you get to meet new people from different cultural background and experience different food and how about their culture.

Secondly, moving abroad can lead to a better quality of life. For example, British and Australians travel to warmer countries ever year to work and study. These countries have warmer climates and encourage a better work-life-balance. In addition, by living overseas, you can gain qualifications and language skills, which may get you a better job, once, you’re back in your country.

Turning to the other side of the argument, culture shock is a major problem. Many people who take a year out find it hard to cope up with the language barrier, the food and general cultural differences. This often leads to homesickness and in some cases a sense of isolation.

All things considered, it is clear that this situation is not as straightforward as it first appears. You need to weigh up the pros of better lifestyle, weather and so on, and the cons of culture shock and language barrier. Personally, I believe the benefits in terms of personal growth eventually out weigh any negatives.