The advantages of the spread of the English as a global language will continue to outweigh its disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In these years, there is a growing recognition that English is well on its way to becoming the dominant global language. The impact of this trend is a subject of intense debate, it is my opinion that advantages of a dominant global language will continue to outweigh its disadvantages.

The rise of a global language is a facilitator of cross cultural communication and the communication between people with different language backgrounds. In different areas of global communication, such as science and news, recognizing a common language removes communication barriers and increases convenience. On many formal occasions, English, as a working language, boosts efficiency and avoids misunderstanding. Likewise, the exchange of essential information like know-how and technologies will be tremendously prompted.

One might argue that the rise of a global language would endanger other languages, in belief that an increasing number of people have turned to English as their first language. This viewpoint is flawed. The spread of global English has little, if any, influence on non-English-speakers’ language proficiency. People might be motivated to learn English as a foreign language but do not necessarily drop their native language because learning beginners or intermediate level English is sufficient for day-to-day communication.

The dominance of English as a global language is, therefore, not a cause of the loss of language diversity. Its negative effect is reflected mainly in cultural imperialism. As international media recognizes English as its root language, most of the broadcast information is related to the lifestyle, norms and beliefs of English-speaking countries. It might over time put many minority cultures on the verge of extinction, when those ethnic groups gradually adopt the Western culture. The effects of shrinking cultural diversity are destructive, causing people to live in a simple and monotonous world and think and act in similar ways.

The development of English is overall, a positive global trend. It connects people who previously spoke different languages and enables them to exchange ideas, although it might lead to the loss of cultural diversity.