All children should learn to speak a foreign language as soon as they start school. How far do you agree with this proposal? How important is it for a child to learn a foreign language?

Learning a foreign language has become a grave concern among many people, and the issue of when to embark on that will probably always be controversial. It seems to me that all children might benefit from the acquisition of the second language at their early time of education as it may affect positively their future success.

Firstly, adapting to a new language at early phase of education is much easier for language learners. This means that children at this age are more flexible, and they possess a fresh and high intelligent mind which facilitates acquiring the second language much easier than during their both adolescence and adulthood, making the commencement of learning a foreign language at the beginning of elementary school much more appropriate. Moreover, this education scheme will surely prepare them for higher levels of education in an affordable and effective way. This means that not only can children save time and energy during their adolescence to study profoundly other courses, but they might also rely on their internalized knowledge to enjoy success in their upcoming academic and social life. Thus, learning the second language at an early phase of education may work easily to the advantage of children.

Turning to the importance of being a bilingual child, it seems to be a critical issue mainly for two reasons. To begin with, learning a second language appears to help children become more sociable at their early stage of school life. The evidence from advanced countries, such as Sweden, have shown that this appears to be the case, and they urge other nations to follow the suit. Furthermore, they have a unique opportunity to develop their learning abilities in comparison with their monolingual peers. This means that they are able to learn more and thoroughly because of their privilege to possess a prepared mind. As can be seen, this approach may turn children to a child extraverted prodigy.

In conclusion, it seems to me that learning at the early step of education may facilitate the learning process if children and work to their future advantage. It appears that doping this approach can easily build their social and learning skills. Hence, it would great if governments pass a law to make learning a second language at elementary school obligatory.