Some people feel that public money should not be spent on cultural amenities such as

museums, theatres and art festivals. How important do you think these things are to society as a

whole? Are there any areas which are more important for the government to fund?

Spending national fund on cultural facilities is a concern for a great many people today, as we see the society suffering increasing demand from lack of effective education scheme, unemployment and poverty. However, to say that governments should regard this one issue as their main priority may be a rather simplistic view.

Granted, it is correct that establishing of cultural services should be among our greatest concerns. Without development of cultural premises, people will not be familiar with their cultural heritage, leading to detachment of civilization from both their ancient cultural treasure and contemporary culture. however, by focusing on this topic to the exclusion of others we run the risk of neglecting a range of other, equally grave challenges.

Foremost among these other challenges appear to be the question of successful education programme, by which I mean the educational scheme that prepare student for dealing with real life difficulties creatively. If this problem is not addressed, the society potentially face ineffective educated workforce who are not only able to solve problems of society, but they also contribute to both wasting of national resources and worsening of unemployment issue. Another challenge which is at least equal to the education is the need to reduce unemployment, which would enable those populations to improve their standard of living and improve their quality of life. Finally, there is the question of poverty and the need to find ways to reduce this problem. industrialization is by far the best way to generate job opportunity and reduce poverty in societies. By spending money on industry, governments would create revenues and economic stability, leading to more jobs, less poverty, and cultural development.

To conclude, funding on cultural premises is certainly a major priority. however, it should be seen as one among a range of issues to be solved, and the solutions themselves could lead to development of cultural amenities.