Assignment 2

Some people think the best way to motivate and encourage people to work hard is to pay them based on how much they produce and sell. Do you agree or disagree?

It is considered by an increasing number of people that the most effective way to make an employee work hard is to pay them according to their hardwork. In my opinion, I agree as salary is the wages of hardwork.

To begin with, people need to work hard to earn a living, the reason is that when salaries are distributed without checking the performance of a worker, most employees may not be motivated to work as they already have it in mind which leads to underwork and not giving in the best. Most companies in Nigeria for instance pay the senior ranked employees higher even when they contribute so little while the junior employees do the most work in a company. Thus, loosing the more productive employees.

Another point is that most workers tend to leave their comfort zone to go way out to make sells when they have personal financial pressing issues and when the salary is huge and serves as a form of drive. Subsequently, this leads to good production and sales for a company. For example, a company I once worked with in Nigeria experienced great sales when a target was implemented with a huge bonus to gain. Employees worked hard and caused the sales to go up. Hence,leading to good turn ups for the company.

In conclusion, with the knowledge that money is vital in human life, most people prefer encouragement as a form of a high salary in order to earn a good living.