Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists rather than local people.

Why is this?

What can be done to encourage local people to visit museums and historical

Undoubtedly, historical places have always been a major destination for tourists and not the indigenes of a place. This is because of the expensive entrance fees charged and monotonous atmosphere of heritage sites, and certain possible measures can be used in attracting local people.

A major factor discouraging indigenes from exploring museums is the entry fee charged. In other words, most tourists are eager to learn new cultures and traditions unlike dwellers who have learnt either through personal experience or at school, and as such are willingly pay any amount to view this unique ornaments and artefacts already known to the locals. Additionally, most locals avoid visiting these place repeatedly because of the boring atmosphere. In other words, they become familiar with the unique antiques in heritage sites and would rather keep away until a new discovery is found,whereas these visitors find this place exciting and informative as this will enable them have a better understanding of the history and cultural heritage of the country.

That said, subsidizing fees and organising regular exhibitions can encourage local visits. Likewise, providing free tickets or conducting special monthly promos such as art gallery competitions can encourage regular out turn of locals. Moreover, promoting cultural events in Museum centres such as world discovery day in New Zealand can also help the community celebrate the unique aspect of their nation thereby solving the problem of low turnout.

In conclusion, the exorbitant admission fees of Heritage sites and monotonous atmosphere are major reasons why these centres have less local representatives and subsidizing fees and encouraging cultural event at these centers can help promote local visit