Because of investor money, online shopping giants like Amazon are able to sell products even lower than their market rate. What problems does it cause? How can we counter these problems?

Many giant players like Amazon, flipkart and Myntra are famous names in online shopping business and have become the first choice for most consumers because of many reasons like discounted rate, time efficient and broad range of products availability. This change in shopping trend has many benefits along with some negative impact on the society in broader sense. This essay will discuss issues and the solutions around online shopping.

As online shopping continues to surge in the mobile space that includes cheaper prices, local spending as a result has slowed down. Nevertheless, local shops and malls run the risk of going out of business. They do not have the resources to set up online component of their services. These small set ups facilitate the local economic development. In the case of online shopping, most of the benefits go in the foreign companies like Amazon, Flipkart acquired by Wallmart a US based company hence no major contribution in local economy. Additionally, when products are available at lower rate, somewhere the quality of the product is not reliable.

To revive the local industries and make them competitive, the government should provide help in the form of subsidies to fund for online set up for these businesses. Apart from this, the owners of these shops also, should introduce innovative marketing strategy to attract consumers such as after sale services, home delivery and different discount schemes.

In conclusion, although e-commerce has become quite popular in the world today, but the strong regulation by the government is the need of hour to appease small traders to ultimately backing the local economic growth.