Both the poor and rich find the accessibility into university difficult. Do you agree or disagree?

Admissions to universities are getting increasingly difficult irrespective of the stature. I agree to the argument that both rich and poor parents find it challenging for their children to get admissions into universities. This essay will outline my reasoning for supporting this view.

Firstly, the biggest contributing factor, is the growth of average intellect amongst today’s children. Most of the current generation, are more intelligent and sharper than their previous generation; this not only creates intense competition amongst them, but also reduces the opportunities for many average students. For example, a renowned university increases its admission marks threshold each year since most of the students are scoring above average marks in their entrance exams as compared to earlier times when most of them scored average marks. Thus, despite being rich or poor, children have to constantly keep themselves ahead of competition to get admissions.

One more factor that brings equality is the intensity and toughness of entrance exams. Entrance exams are key source of testing student’s aptitude and also critical to get into universities. Either rich or poor, students have to clear entrance exams to be admitted to universities. To support this point, in the year 2012 the level of difficulty for IIT entrances increased by 30% as compared to 2011. Thus larger pool of students found it difficult to meet the cut offs for admissions.

To conclude, complexities to get admissions in most of the universities are rising, and impacts not only poor but also rich. In my opinion, with increase in level of intellect abilities and toughness of entrance exams, only the brilliant brains from any stature shall stand chance for admissions to universities.