Some young people are leaving the countryside to live in cities and towns, leaving only old people in the countryside. What problems are caused by this issue? What can be done this situation?

With increasing urbanization, many youngsters are migrating to cities for better opportunities, while leaving older population in the countryside. There are few challenges because of this trend, such as no support for the ageing population in their later years and stagnation of economy. This essay will discuss both these issues in detail and suggest few viable solutions to arrest this trend.

Most important factor for developing economy to prosper is to have agriculture as the backbone for growth. Agriculture is primarily an activity that adds employment and consumption to the economy. For example, in countries like India, agriculture contributes to 50% of the country’s GDP. Agriculture is mainly a countryside activity which requires participation of young population. With more youth drifting to cities, the economy will start deteriorating. Next important factor is lack of support for older age group when they are incapable of doing things independently. To support this view, countryside doesn’t have easy access to medical facilities. In case of emergencies, younger population acts as support to help them commute or disburse assistance. Without this youth, old people will be helpless during the time of need.

To manage the above issues, one should add more lucrative employment opportunities in countryside. For instance, a factory that is technologically sound and offers adequate payout to young population so they are reluctant to travel to city side for jobs. Another solution could be increasing government investments that would encourage building good schools and hospitals, so that young generation can have a better quality of life even in countryside.

To conclude, while it is difficult to stop youth from switching to cities, it is important to protect the economic growth and support the ageing people by offering more advanced facilities and opportunities that would force them to re-consider their decision on leaving their hometowns.