In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes, the government has to pay for this care.

Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Old age homes or care centers are a 20th century product and is the result of popularization and preference of nuclear families over joint families. This is a growing phenomenon and a matter of concern not only in Britain, but globally.

Coming to the point of discussion, as to whether it is the responsibility of the government or the family to foot the old age home bill, I would vehemently say that, it is the responsibility of the family to bear the expense, rather than the government. However, there can be exceptions, where, the government can take a situational call on a case to case basis, depending on the nature of the claim. For example, in the case of old people, who have served for their country in the armed forces or who are from an economically strained background, or in the case, wherein, they are not being survived by any children, the government, can analyze and take a situational call and provide support on a pro-rata basis.

This in turn, will initially force feed a sense of responsibility to the younger generation, to take care of the elderly, which, over a gradual passage of time, will lead to the blossom and flourishing of family bonding, nurture good values and family customs, thereby leading to a well rounded contented family. The British parliamentarians, should take it upon themselves, to lead by example and start living a life with the elderly at home. This sets as an example to many and also the government, should organize campaigns and try to incentivize the concept of caring for the elderly at home, in some form ( other than monetary form), which will lead to more of a family bonding and a very firm society, imbibed in culture, friendship and love.

After all, even the families should realize that, they have become what they are today, only because of the love, that their parents had shown them, only because of the time that, they had invested on them, only because, they cared for them. They should realize that, they have eaten up the years of their parents and have become what they are and they are setting an example for their sons and daughters to follow.