Many newspapers and magazines feature stories about the private lives of famous people. We know what they eat, where they buy their clothes and who they love. We also often see pictures of them in private situations.

Is it appropriate for a magazine or newspaper to give this kind of private information about people?

Magazines and newspapers keep publishing glimpse of the lives of famous personalities, only because, there is a reader base for these kind of publishing. People are curious about, the kind of lifestyle, these famous personalities follow, they want to imbibe it, they want to dress like how the prominent people do, they try to mimic even small things like their haircut, beard style and so on. It is this fire of curiosity that the literature houses keep fuelling by these pictures.

Coming to the point of it being appropriate or not, there is always a fine line, when, a person’s life is being poked and peeked into. Some celebrities bare themselves to the spotlight by giving interviews, appearing in reality show and offer rather a footstep into their lives. Media houses use this to feed the frenzy people, info about their star. On the contrary, there are celebrities, who do shy away, from any kind of interviews, refrain themselves from participating in any kind of reality shows and provide only a keyhole glimpse into their lives. However, the media houses try to pry into their lives and publish really embarrassing thing, and that is when things turn inappropriate.

It is one thing, when a person bares himself and publications take full mileage of it, however, it is rather inappropriate, when it turns into prying into someone’s life, that too, when they think, it is not to be so and that is when real trouble shoots up. Also, all the publishing houses, should take moral responsibility as to what they publish, as the printing media, is still being followed by a majority of the society, across all age groups. Inappropriate pictures of celebrities, pictures of their private situations on grounds of moral responsibility should not be published.

In other words, there is always a fine line between appropriate and inappropriate. The moral responsibility to publish meaningful and appropriate content lies solely on the publishing houses rather than the celebrity.