Social networking sites such as Facebook and Twitter are observed to have more negative effects than positive being more useful for the criminals than others.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience

Social Networking, right from the days of Orkut, Hi-5 to Facebook and twitter, have always been pictured as a facilitating means to find long lost friendships, love and to connect with relatives, who, otherwise would fade away from our lives, without a moment’s though. Off late, however, social media is being viewed as a bane rather than a boon, which it was initially perceived as.

In this context, it would be very easy to say, that these have become a den for criminals and their handiworks, however, this cannot be proved in its entirety. For anything, there are always two sides: positive and negative. Social media sites, have been connecting with people that easier, also, the level of exposure, even till hand of a daily wage labourer has become so vivid, that people think twice before making a mistake (particularly people in power), it serves a business platform for budding entrepreneurs, it serves as a platform for creating awareness, for requesting for help from the society, in case of emergencies (Keto, Milaap and other such apps basically use Facebook as a platform to raise funding for various campaigns to help people out).

However, as said earlier, everything has two sides to it and social networking cannot be portrayed as saintly, which are purely used for the above mentioned purposes. There are elements, who spread rumours and false information, which has resulted in the death of many, there are instances of fraud, adultery, hate mongering, racism, caste propagation and so on and so forth. Apart from these, there is also a fair amount psychological attributes, which are attached to social networking sites, such as, depression, loss of emotions, fatigue, addiction to being socially active, zero privacy etc.

The need to scrap or change anything arises, when the cons outweigh the positives and though the negatives are many and flashing, the major pros of the networking sites outweigh the negatives, which can be overcome by tightening the security protocols and by educating the user base.