Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'.

How true do you think this statement is?

What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars

In this 21st century, it is true that, human beings are used to with their own automobiles and the number of buying cars is extremely accelerating from the last three decades, in most of the metro cities in the world, which are now considered as the 'one big traffic jam'. In this essay, I will discuss about some preventive steps, which ought to be taken by the authors to deal with this issue.

To embark with, presently, it is the dream of all individuals to have their own car for travelling and maximum number of mankind have their personal vehicles, which are used in a daily basis, due to that the problem of traffic jam is faced in the mega citie - it is the issue of debate. In order to solve the issue of heavy traffic, governments have to take some measures : increase the carbon taxes upon private automobiles; rise the price of fuels, which are used in vehicles, both are very helpful to tekal the problem. For an example, one of the european nations - Malta, where author not only put some carbon taxes but also boomed the fuel rate to deal with the problem of traffic in 2015, accordingly, citizens have been trying to less use their personal cars and after that the issue day to day decrease.

Furthermore, there are many another steps to discourage citizens from using their own automobiles, which can be taken by the government. If the author improve some sectors of public transport : better infrastructure; good facilities; frequent routs of buses and trains; decline the price of tickets, these are the improvements, which are fascinating humans to utilise public transportation. For an instance, in Denmark, where there is no traffic congestion in whole country and the least number of cars are used because the public transport is extremely greater vis-á-vis other countries.

To conclude, although, in order to discourage the public from using cars, authors should apply some carbon Taxes upon private vehicles and improvise public transportation by reducing ticket rate, providing often routs and so on.