In cities and town all over the world the high volume of traffic is a problem. What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to solve this problem?

With the advancement in technology and globalisation every facet of life has changed and the revolution in number of vehicles causing traffic is no exception. There are numerous reasons for such a situation; however, a few productive suggestions can ameliorate the situation to a lot extent.

One of the common cause of growing traffic is burgeoning population which requires people to commute to different places for numerous reasons and for this most of the humans prefer to use private vehicles in order to save time. Besides that private vehicle is more convenient and comfortable. A research shows that eight out of ten persons use private cars or scooters to travel to their destinations. Therefore, it leads to heavy jams on road.

Another possible reason could be the downside of public transport. People don't prefer public transportation for traveling because fares are comparatively higher than the service provided. On the top of that they are noy reliable: irregular timings and cleaniness are the major factors that drew the population away from the usage of these vehicles. Moreover, public buses or trains are not safe nowadays and people fear to travel with strangers.

Several actions that can be taken to alleviate the problem is to make people aware about the car-pooling, go-green project and emphasis should be given to walk rather than using vehicles. For example, if two three people are going to same place then they should opt for car-pooling,which in turn will save fuel and helps in decreasing the jams. Another action that can be followed is that government should work upon the improvement as well as encouragement of public vehicles. They should have low fares and be more secure. Besides this people must travel by them, in order to save the planet Earth from the problem of heavy volume of traffic.