In cities and towns all over the world, the high volume of traffic is a problem. What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to solve this problem?

In today's world, traffic congestion is an extremely difficult problem for commuters around the globe. A 10 minutes office to home ride had become a pathetic 40 minutes or even longer ride, spending one's valuable time on roads. This essay will explore some of the causes and recommended practices to reduce this issue.

The possible sources for increased traffic could be from several factors. Firstly, I consider migration of people from urban areas to cities in search of making a living as one of the primary reasons. This, in turn, leads to increased number of vehicles on the road. Based on a recent study conducted by the Transportation Department of London, there is a 20% surge in volume of car sale in the United Kingdom each year over the last decade. Secondly, failing to adhere to traffic rules is another factor contributing to the waiting time due to traffic.

The government and public should be pragmatic about the actions that will solve this issue. The government should encourage using public transport instead of personal vehicles because in my country one will hardly find a co-passenger in a car other than the driver. In addition, the traffic control department should implement stringent traffic rules, for instance, diverting traffic in peak hours on a particular avenue.

In summary, a rapid rise in the car users is one of a major reason for increasingly pathetic traffic congestion. The government and public should cooperate to reduce the number of vehicles by using public transport.