In cities and towns all over the world, the high volume of traffic is a problem. What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to solve this problem?

It is a fact that traffic congestion has become a serious problem for many cities and towns. More and more people get stressed with this situation, as they have to spend hours after hours in the street and lose their productivity and valuable time. The following essay will discuss the cause of the issue and some of the solutions that can be taken into account.

For a number of reasons, traffic has become the main problem of many cities and towns all over the world. Firstly, as the population growth in many metropolis cities such as in Shanghai, New York, Dhaka and Bangkok has increased rapidly in the past recent years, it means that there are more cars in the city. Secondly, in some cities, such as in Jakarta or Manila, public transportation facilities are poorly managed therefore the people choose to drive their own vehicles. Lastly, in many countries such as Indonesia or China, the economic development is not widely spread, and a result a lot of people from rural areas move to cities which would create traffic related problems. The number of commuters in many cities has increased dramatically but in proportion, the total number of roads remained almost same as it was in the past. Many people are buying private cars and it is not unusual that many families own more than one car. These two reasons with the poor traffic management system in many cities cause unmanageable traffic jam nowadays.

However, there are several things that the government could do to reduce the problem. The state government should provide decent, safe and clean public transportation facilities, therefore more people would use public transports, instead of driving their own private vehicles. And then the government should develop new industrial and commercial areas outside of the city. It is hoped that some people would move to these new areas, and would reduce the density problem. The government could provide some bicycle lane, as it brings a lot of benefit for the people and the city itself. Bicycles as the primary means of communication could reduce traffic. It is also safer for the environment and has positive effects on the rider’s health. The roads and highways should be expanded and new roads should be introduced. Severe punishment should be imposed for violating traffic rules and restriction should be implemented in private car ownership. Finally, improved traffic system should be introduced and unfit cars and vehicles should be removed from the streets.

In conclusion, cities and towns all over the world are facing serious traffic problem these days. It is mainly due to of the population growth, density and poor public transportation facility. But there are several things that the government could do to address the problem, such as improving the public transports, developing new areas and persuade its resident in using bicycles.