Computers today can quickly and accurately translate languages, therefore, it is a waste of time to learn a foreign language

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Computer have come a long way since the last decade. They can now calculate things even quicker, do behavioural analysis, translate languages on the go etc. Some people feel that we should now stop learning new things such as languages.

Just a couple of years back, computers were only capable of translating languages in written format. Since the computers would translate word by word, they lacked grammer to form a proper sentence. Because of this, its use was fairly limited to small talks. Artifical intelligence was used to teach grammer, and speaking out the translated words. It eventually came to a point wherein poetries could be translated without changing the meaning and sometimes even the rhyming scheme. It did have a slight positive impact on tourism, since the tourists no longer fear the language barrier.

The Computer has still a long way to go to completely comprehend the language. Language is not just made up of words. It is a mixture of emotions, tone, context, and words which form a sentence. While it can translate the words, it is still incapable of copying the same set of emotions, tone and context in which a set of words are spoken. Apart from this, learning a new language is proved to be a good exercise for the brain. When you speak in foreign language on tour, the face of the locals lit up. That’s the power of Human emotions, which the computer isn’t capable (or atleast till date).

We were capable of this incredible feat because we never stopped learning. If we had halted a few years back thinking that it is enough that we can translate a few words, we wouldn’t have had this technology now. In my opinion, saying that we should stop learning, because computers can now translate is truly wrong.