As computers translate quickly and accurately, learning foreign languages is a waste of time

To what extent do you agree.

According to some people, since computers can help us with a quick and accurate translation of languages from other social circles unknown to us, learning a new language is unnecessary. However, despite the benefits technology has brought to worldwide communication, i believe written texts do not totally convey the intention of the speaker, making it expedient to learn alien tongues and dialets for effective understanding.

The advent of translation softwares, such as the speech - to- word applications on mobile phones and personal computers, has made it possible to translate almost all languages. People do not have to pay astronomical fees to language schools or engage the services of an expensive language translator before they can engage in meaningful conversations with someone from another area communicating in a entirely different tongue even if comprehension is limited. The use of online translators and technologies has made it possible for a Spanish, who has zero knowledge of French, to easily read what a French Speaker is saying by tuning in to his applications,which converts the spoken words to his own mother tongue

Regardless of the aforementioned advantage, being able to read a text in one's language does not necessarily translates to understanding because language is understood in context and not text. Unfortunately, written words only give an objective view of the situation without taking into account the circumstances when the speech is being given, which might otherwise counteract what is in the text. Most languages often use a single word to express different meanings. For example, the word LOVE in English language might be used to express romantic feelings or platonic relationship, which might be confusing to someone reading the interpreted text. Moreover, the gesticulations and facial expressions of the speaker, which are totally absent in words, gives an added but important information to the conveyed speech.

In conclusion, even though language translators on our technology devices could give on the spot translation of speech into words without misspelling words or making grammatical errors, they would fail to completely express the mind of the speaker and thus, introduce confusion and bias into communication