Many countries aim to improve their living standard by economic development,but some important social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages.

As opined by most nations of the world, stimulating economic growth is the best way to raise the standard of living. In my opinion, although valuable social beliefs and characters might be eroded, the possibility of having a more prosperous society is more advantageous.

Despite the downside of losing some age - long societal concepts when improving the economy, people can become financially independent as more and better jobs abound in the society. Having more money in circulation is a way of breeding more breadwinning individuals who do not just have the capability to support their families, but can also create abundant job opportunities for other residents. For example, most of the world's happiest nations, such as Norway and Canada, are those whose national governments prioritize economic reforms over cultural stability, while most African countries, even with their rich cultures, have its citizens languishing in deep hunger and poverty , and only this is because our ways of life does not bring food on our table; only money does via job creation.

Admittedly, intrinsic cultural traditions and societal values would be lost amid economic growth. Firstly, the presence of close - knit communities that have always existed since ages would be threatened. Distant relatives have always lived together under one roof; however, with the need to make more money, each individual would have to transcend great distances, often neglecting families, in order to become financially buoyant. Secondly, people would lose the true essence of happiness. Individuals would believe their true life worth lies in material possessions or the amount one has in his or her bank account, making them not to see the real joy and gladness in basic things life offers, such as play, compassion, and love. When people are unable to meet up with their wealthy individuals, they resort to heinous crimes and even suicide in rare cases.

In conclusion, though some societal problems might result should communities put more emphasis on advancing the economy, the advantage far outweighs any of the demerits because people can lead a more self - sustaining life due to a better job market