In countries throughout the world, students are required to study history in school. Why is history considered an important school subject? Provide two or three reasons and support your ideas with examples.

Most of the nations around the world prioritize history as an important part of student’s formation. In fact, just a few countries don’t think that teaching history in school is not helpful at all. Then, I would argue that this subject is tremendously relevant for everyone, specially because of all experiences that might be shared with the school goers about what happened in the world in the past.

Certainly, history is knowledge that can show our kids an incredible range of facts about our political beliefs and choices in the past that could help them to avoid the same mistakes in the next challenges. For instance, the German political choices in the past that led Adolf Hitler to presidency began after a specific philosophy been spread among the population. Then, if our students learn about this, they will be surely well prepared to avoid these ideas growing again.

In addition to this, I would say that the cultural behaviors that are nowadays causing issues to our society might be well explained by all the information that historians can learn and teach us. Indeed, questions about our past , about the cultures from people who came before us and even knowing better about our previous behaviors are useful to strengthen our identity as a people. For example, historic researches could present to Brazilian society all African and Europeans cultural backgrounds that can guide our understanding about our selves to some deeper comprehension.

Therefore, in my point of view, all nations should incentivize their schools to invest time and resources in history teaching for kids. This would be incredibly relevant for this culture and identity as a society.