Creative artist should always be given the freedom to express their own ideas in words pictures music or film in whichever way they wish There should be no government restrictions on what they do To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Freedom of expression for the innovative artists is under continuous debate for the last few decades. Some comments that they should be restricted and some are of the opinion that arts knows no boundary and artists can have complete liberty. I agree that artists should be free to the some extent that they do not hurt the feelings and sentiments of masses.

Firstly, it is fairly easy to understand why this proposal has been made. Arts is a creative ability of humans to produce objects, environment and experiences through skills and imaginations. It plays vital role in developing civic sense into communities. People learn from what they see, hear and read. To illustrate, if the people are shown immoral aspects that have detrimental effects on our society then arts will serve as best medium to channelize awareness. Movies, Songs, Books and Photos that will identify our casualness or faults are not less than treasure which in-turn will evolve us into better communities.

While unfolding the other side of the coin, some argue that if there are no supervisory bodies looking over the content produced by the these artists, then it is feared that there is a chance of unintentionally hurting feelings and sentiments of millions, especially on the sensitive subjects like religion, culture or nation. For an instance, Muslims are shown terrorists in almost every movie and for this reason Islam-o-phobia is spreading like a disease in the west world. It is causing stereo typing Muslims as terrorists. There is a dire need to have a check and balance on such topics.

To recapitulate, the aforementioned arguments are strong on both sides but there should be freedom of expression for the artists to some extent while censor boards may be setup to curb their desire so that liberty is not won at the cost of distressing majority.