Cycling has many benefits, yet in some countries, there is a decrease in numbers of people using bicycles as their main form of transportation. Why is it happening? Give suggestions how to encourage people to use bicycles.

Cycling is an effective measure of many problems related to the environment and health of today's world. However, there is a noticeable decline in the use of a bicycle as their main form of commutation in many countries. Here, I would like to discuss few of the reasons behind this negative development with the possible suggestion to encourage people to use bicycles.

To commence with, in today's fast pace life, everyone is in the rush to reach their destination. People complaining about the lack of timing which seems an absolute alibi. The lack of time management and slipping into the more comfortable life are the more visible reason behind this trivial excuse which supports them to avoid the use of cycle for their routine traveling. Moreover, cycling demands physical efforts compare to any other mode of transportation. Arguably, cycling toward the workplace can leave the person fatigue to start the day.In many countries,the landscape and the weather don't allow the people to use the bicycle.

Apart from the physical and weather conditions, there is fewer economic convenience which gave a push to the use of public transport and private vehicles for the routine use. Developed network of public transport and the cheaper rate of tickets gave the motivation to use public transport to the mediocre people. Moreover, easy availability of financial supports and smooth process for vehicle purchase has lead to increasing volume of private vehicles in the cities. Nonetheless , use of the car and the private vehicle has become a status symbol for individuals. Under the fact of above reasons , people mostly avoids the use of the bicycle for the commutation.

Seeing a huge environmental and physical benefit of cycling, it needs to be promoted by the government of each country. The government can impose a rule of one day a week as a cycling day so that every citizen would be guided to use the bicycle for that particular day. Secondly, the government can declare incentive on the reduction of carbon credit through cycling to the individual who adopts the cycling as their routine commutation. Thirdly, community groups should spread more awareness about the benefits of cycling on health and environment among the society. Also, many motivational programs can be conducted to promote it further. Last but not the least, every parent should motivate their children to use the bicycle as a part of their good habits.

All in all, cultivating a habit of cycling can help to fight with many emerging issues related to the health of individuals and the environment . Therefore, spreading awareness and designing improved traffic regulation can help in developing cycling as a habit in every citizen of the country.