The development of tourism contributes to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally

What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

Globalization has already aided to the convergence of the world. This has not only enabled smooth business among different countries but, has also raised the tourism industry to great heights. English language is becoming one of the most spoken languages in the world and the tourism business has contributed a lot towards this trend. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of having one global language in the world.

As we know, English is the most spoken language on earth and as tourism industry is in full bloom, more and more tourists are exploring different parts of the world. It is therefore, a necessity that the travelers, as well as the local people are familiar with English in order to avoid any inconvenience and to retain tourist’s interests. For example, in India, almost all tourist guides and general public are well versed with English and this has helped the local merchants and craftsmen to sell their goods. Also the tourists are more comfortable in exploring even the remote areas and getting to know the vivid culture of our country.

As English is becoming the favourite language of everyone, it is imposing a threat on all the local and regional languages all over the world. English language has left such a deep impact on traditional languages that these have started to lose their significance and will soon disappear into the darkness. For example, although, Sanskrit is the oldest languages in the world, yet it is gradually fading away from our culture as people have stopped learning the language and is slowly giving way to globalization.

To conclude, I would like to say that, although English language has its own share of positive effects and has merged the whole world together, we should not neglect our traditional language and literature and should make every possible effort to retain our cultural heritage in the form of the native language.