Do the advantages of having English as a global language outweigh the disadvantage

Thanks to the colonization of British which has helped people across the globe to assimilate English as their primary or secondary language despite their traditional language. English, certainly has improved communication between people across the globe and facilitated trade globally and without this, world might have faced devastating consequences in terms of trade, business, studies and so on.

Residents around the world, of late, are able to travel or migrate to different corners of the planet owing to good knowledge of English and both the parties having a fair understanding of this language. This has allowed crucial communication between people of different religious, cultural and educational backgroud. Not to mention that this language plays a critical part when one travels to other country to study or seek medical assistance by promoting instantaneous communication rather than have an interpreter to translate which delays the overall progress of any pressing requirement. India, for instance, has more than 1000 languages; however, almost every Indian possess a good knowledge of the language and this is one reason that they are extremely successful in any country they emigrate. So it is blatant that a good understanding of this language aids people tremendously.

Futhermore, assimilation of this language promises far greater career prospects than any locally dominant language and many orthodox nations have made English mandatory in their education curriculum. However, on the contrary, opponents of this language stress the fact that strong influence of this western language deprives people of following their local culture and custom. Besides, this dominance of English has decimated many minor languages of the world and lose its originality and tradition and because of this, the next generation might not be apprised about those languages and instead, they will have to adopt English as their primary tongue. This paves way to losing many cultures and traditions going forward. Nevertheless, these implications seems miniscule compared to the multifarious benefits the language bestows on humans.

To sum up, in this contemprary world, it is imperative that any language that immensely helps mankind should be adopted. English has overwhelmingly promoted unification, exchange of opinions, jobs and other benefits to mention a few. Although there are some minor downsides such as losing local language and culture; nevertheless the multifarious benefits largely outweighs these meager amount of drawbacks. Hence, it is incontrovertible that the benefits with English as a compulsory language across the globe overshadows the drawbacks