Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things they like to do-rather than doing things they should do. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Our deeds can be sorted into two categories, one is about our interests, doing things we enjoy, and the other is accomplishing duties which are sometimes not exactly what we want. Although some feel that people nowadays spend too much time on what they enjoy instead of obligations that are essential to living, I disagree with the idea. I believe that compared to past generations, the fast pace of life in modern society causes most of us to work harder than ever for two reasons.

First, owing to the intense competitive pressure nowadays, people spend a considerable amount of time on self-improvement to achieve their goals. As we grow up, we are taught to study hard as a student, and after entering college, finding a job is the priority in our lives. Later on, when we finally become grown-ups, most people’s purpose in life is to earn money and support their family. Indeed, our ancestors had also encountered these stages of life, but they do not need to compete with so many opponents from all over the world. Since transportation innovation and the widespread usage of the internet, talented people are everywhere to be found, and we have to be outstanding enough to pursue our dreams.

Confucius once said, “Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life." Nowadays, the variety of jobs provides us all kinds of careers to choose from, so it is easier for people to associate their interests with their professions. For instance, there were no esports players in the past, while the acceptance of the esports industry has grown year by year. Moreover, the number of Youtubers are also increasing dramatically recently, which is another emerging profession that attracts many young adults. Therefore, when people are doing something enjoyable, they work harder than ever because they feel more relaxed. Completing obligations is no longer just for money, but an opportunity for us to make a difference.

In conclusion, people nowadays spend more time on things they should do than on personal enjoyment because of the enormous competitive pressure and their determination to reach for their dreams.