A person should never make an important decision alone.

There are uncountable decisions for us to make throughout our lives, which can profoundly influence the future. Some circumstances can not be changed once people make up their minds, and feeling regretful is useless. Therefore, in my opinion, one should not try to make an important decision alone for two reasons.

First of all, when people make decisions alone, they have a limited amount of information, which may lead to a mediocre result. As the saying goes, “The spectators often see the chess game better than the players.” People may believe more strongly in themselves as time passes. However, it’s essential to think thoroughly before making a decision, and a bystander is often much more objective than ourselves. For example, if a person doesn't want to be a slacker’s teammate, the person might give up the whole project in a fit of anger. However, a better solution is to ask the professor for help. Maybe he can get a chance to find another partner, or gain more time for the assignment.

Second, our friends or family could have been in a similar situation we encounter, so by consulting someone who has made a related decision in the past, we can weigh the options more carefully. For instance, if an undergraduate is trying to decide which department to enter in university, he should try discussing it with his parents if he cannot make up his mind. Maybe he’s passionate about both biology and math, but ends up studying medicine because his father, a high school math teacher, reminded him of the difficulty of advanced mathematics. Therefore, it is essential to consider others' advice before making up your mind.

To conclude, I believe that people should make decisions after having a discussion with someone close to them. Because some of them might have already had a similar experience, their suggestions would enable us to make the best final decision.