People learn things better from those at their own level - such as fellow students or co-workers - than from those at a higher level, such as teachers or supervisors.

Throughout our lives, we are always learning. One may acquire knowledge from books, learn skills from experts, or gain wisdom from experiences. While other times, we learn from people around us. In my opinion, people learn better from those who are more skilled and knowledgeable than those who have the same skills and knowledge as they do, for two reasons.

To begin, learning from experts is more reliable. Teachers are trained to guide students in need and teach them professional skills. Though it is true that students can discuss with their classmates and figure out the answers together, the method used may not be the best. For instance, I tried to study math with my friends in my first year of junior high, but the result was not ideal. It ended up that we misunderstood some of the basic concepts due to a lack of background knowledge. Therefore, I found a tutor who had years of experience in teaching math. She clarified my misconceptions and fixed the problems I had fundamentally.

Second, learning from people at a higher level is more efficient. Since teachers and supervisors are usually older and more experienced, their opinions and advice are more convincing than classmates and co-workers. For example, if I ask a friend for suggestions of my speech, I might disagree with her because I don’t want to admit my shortcomings. Nonetheless, if an English teacher asks me to improve my intonation, I will start practicing without hesitation because I believe in the credibility of their advice. Although discussing with classmates and sharing ideas are another way of learning, it’s not that accurate and effective. Additionally, owing to their past experience, teachers often have some astonishing strategies that students do not, which may help us dramatically.

To sum up, people learn better from experts than from those at their own level because it is more reliable and efficient. Teachers and supervisors can provide us methods based on their experience, boosting our knowledge and skills significantly.