Doctors in many countries believe that people are not getting enough exercise.

What might be causing this lack of exercise and what can be done to address the issue?

Regular workout is quintessential for a healthy body and mind. It is often reckoned by doctors that people hardly get involved in physical activities. The sedentary lifestyle and increasing comforts are the major factors that restrain people from doing exercise. However, generating awareness and introducing various enthusiastic events at the workplace can upsurge the involvement of people in physical activities.

Primarily, with the advancement in science and technology, life has become quite fast and modern. People daily work for 9-10 hours which destroys their energy to perform any physical activity. For instance, according to a survey by the Health Organisation in Delhi, 90% of the people working in multinational companies are not involved in any physical activities due to their tiring work culture. Next, another crucial reason for people not doing exercise is the availability of technical comforts at home and office which makes them lethargic and inactive. For example, the facility of elevators in offices discourage the people to use stairs, even employees working on 1st floor prefer lift over stairs.

There is need to uplift the involvement of individuals in physical activities. Firstly, awareness campaigns should be organized such as marathons, to generate enthusiasm in people for maintaining good health. Additionally, health care events should be conducted that must describe the serious health issues such as obesity, high blood pressure, muscular strain and other psychological problems that can be caused by lack of exercise. To exemplify, a report by PGI Chandigarh stated that the majority of people suffering from obesity is due to little workout. Secondly, the usage of electronics should be minimized and more physical work should be done by individuals at workplaces. Furthermore, organizing recreational activities such as Zumba can encourage employees to participate in physical activities.

In conclusion, it is undeniable fact that modernization has made the lives of people quite busy, considering the importance of health regular workout is vital to stay disease-free. In the near future, it will definitely become an urgent need for people to get involved in exercises.