Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Local businesses are being affected by the rapid growth of huge supermarket developments. Many argue with this rapid growth; local communities are paying the price. I strongly disagree with this notion because in my opinion with the expansion of super-marts we gain access to many foreign products and a lot more verities to choose from at affordable prices

Having a huge supermarket and grocery stores have become crucial. Such marts as Walmart, Woolworth and Coles, for instance, have become a one-stop shop; where locals can not only buy they need but also end up finding a big range of international brands on the shelves making the shopping experience a breeze. Needless to say, having a big verity of brands is good to have but being available of overseas brands is just like icing on top.

Not to forget, with such verities we consider prices as well. Development and expansions of super-marts not only gives us an opportunity to choose from a various range but also provides a chance to buy the products which they can afford whether be it the international product or local. Price at times can be a big factor in consumers’ affordability. Hence, the value supermarket adds to local communities cannot be ignored compared to what only local business brings.

To sum it up, having built supermarkets; allows locals to end up having much more choices to choose from as well as a chance to try various local and international brands which would not be possible without big expansion of the marts such brands as Coles, Walmart and Kmart to name a few.