Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests and whether they are married or single, Some people say that this information may berelevant useful. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is generally seen that personal details of a candidate such as their marital status, their favorite leisure time activities and other interests are sometimes asked by employers when they apply for a Job. Some people believe that such details are pertinent and helpful while others do not. This essay will give an insight into both the views and also discuss why personal details should be asked.

The prominent benefit of getting personal information is the time factor. In other words, some firms require their employees to work for longer hours or to do overtime and if a person is single, one can devote more time to the company, however it becomes a daunting task for a married person. For example, married women. They have responsibility of family also, so investing more time in office can affect their personal life. Thereby, asking these details in beginning can help a boss to choose the employee accordingly, so that company does not have to suffer. Another benefit is that the interest reflects the behavior of a person. If a person prefers reading books in leisure time then he is considered to be the wise personality and to be more serious towards work. Hence, hobbies of a person can help employer choose the best candidate,

Contrarily, asking such details is not at useful. Firstly, it is wastage of time as does not have to pursue hobbies while in office. To be precise, office work demands skills and knowledge and hobbies are of no relevance, to illustrate, if focus of a interviewer is on exploring the interest of a person then he may not be able to evaluate his skills in the given time period. So, instead of getting an insight into personal details, traits of a person should be focused upon. Secondly, it can make a person uncomfortable, Some people like to keep their life personal and do not want to share it with anyone, Thus, it is an act of breaching their personal information.

According to me, this information can help an employer to assign duty according to the interest of a person which would be beneficial for both worker as well as company because working according to the likelihood produces better results. To epitomize, if a person likes to write a lot then he can act as a content creator for the firm. Hence, can work in his own comfortable field.

To conclude, I would like to reiterate by saying that although both the opinions hold strength, considering the benefits of these details, personal information should be asked from every employees just to know about their availability in the company as well as to know about their personality.