Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information such as hobbies and interest and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Write at least 250 words

Various companies demand confidential information from people applying for jobs such as hobbies, personal interests, and marital status. Although, some denizens have their consent that providing personal information is relevant for the organizations, others dissent. In my opinion, I strongly believe that having access to the personal data of the people applying for jobs is both beneficial for the employees as well as the company.

Many citizens believe that the sensitive data asked by the interviewer helps to give more insight into the life of the interviewee. Thus, by having knowledge about the likes and dislikes of the employees will help select the candidate who will be more intrigued in working in the organization moreover, it will aid in providing them with the work environment in which they can work with full potential. To exemplify, jobs requiring extensive travelling will select employees who are travel enthusiasts as this will not only help in improving the performance and lowering the attrition rate of the company but will also help in building a successful career of the employees.

However, some have an opinion that disclosing delicate information to the employer is unsafe as this information might be used by someone in the organisation for their own personal benefit. Furthermore, this will result in a biased decision making. The organisation will give priority to candidates based on their self-interest and not on their knowledge and experience. For example, technological organizations will select candidates who are more interested in advanced machinery and automation because of which worthy candidates will not get the opportunities.

To conclude, I vehemently agree that the distinctive information asked by the company during the interview process is crucial as it helps to indicate a person’s personality and comfort level with a job which will result In overall development of an organization and improving professional life of individuals