Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information such as their hobbies and interest and whether they are married or single. Some say that this information may be relevant and useful. Other disagrees. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The contentious argument that whether employers can solicit personal information from job applicants in the recruitment process has sparkled a heated debate for many years. Many believe that it is necessary to collect this kind of information whereas others claim that it is useless and holds no additional value. This essay will scrutinize both advantages and disadvantages before reaching to an opinion.

Many scholars from human resources advocates the benefits to the organization in acquiring the information about the prospective employees including hobbies, marital status and more. First and foremost, it enables multinational corporation to analyze whether the candidate is best fit for the position or not. For example, a vacancy which requires traveling to new places as job description, will seek for an interviewees who likes to travel a lot and is single, because the married aspirant will have marital commitments. Secondly, Hobbies and interests act as tool to pursue and engage staff in extracurricular activities to boost morale. To illustrate, many companies conduct employee engaging activities to promote team building and leadership, this information can make it more relevant to employees as well.

Conversely, these merits are definitely eclipsed with drawbacks; discriminatory practices and privacy concerns are few of them. There is a major concern about prejudiced decisions while selecting the contenders for a particular job. To exemplify, a recruiter can be biased based on his tastes and preferences, if he is fond of cricket, will favors an interviewees who loves and adore cricket too. Furthermore, Private information can be used to violate someone’s privacy. For an instance, the details of a female employee can be misused to stalk and harassed be a person who hates her, which in turns spoils the company’s reputation.

To conclude, having considered a range of arguments, I firmly opine that advantages of gathering such information’s clearly outweigh the disadvantages; employers can match applicants to vacancies and increase the employee retention rate.