Every country should have a free health service, even if this means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Health of citizens is an important factor in the progress and future development of the country. In regard to this, I would say that government should provide some of the free health services to people as the high cost treatment is unaffordable by huge sections of the society. It caters to many reasons which are as follows.

It is the prime duty of the government to provide healthcare to the citizens of their country. But due advancement in technology and medicine the cost of treatment has also reached a level where poor section, unemployed or older people are not able to get proper healthcare. Private hospitals are totally out of reach for these people while government hospital does not have faculties and facilities to provide care. The government needs to cater the situation in the best of its ability like organizing medical camps in the rural areas.

The people below poverty line must be given free medical checkup and medicines, free consultation from doctors. One of the effort made by government was ‘Mohalla Clinic’ which is a type of mobile clinic built in many of the areas where people were given best of their treatment but such type of clinics must be available in the reach of the people or in the areas far from the hospitals. The medical test must be available at a very subsidized rate.

To conclude, even though advanced equipments or medication could not be provided due to low fund but government needs to provide other free health services to people of the country as they are the future resources of our country.