Every country should have a free health service, even if this means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive.

To what extent do you agree or disagree

There is a controversial issue about the accessibility of health system. Some patients state that it should be accessible for all citizens regardless of their financial status. This essay disagrees with their viewpoint.

Let us start with reasons why some patients think that the population should not be charged at hospital. To begin with, more people would receive medical therapy. It often happens that people, who cannot afford costly hospital treatment, either die or endure pain for long time, but if the treatment was free, they would lead normal life. Another reason is that the sick would be cured equally. Poor people would be served as effectively as the wealth, if health care was available for all. Furthermore, fewer people would travel to other countries for high-quality medicine. People with deadly diseases , such as cancer and HIV, would address to local health care, instead of visiting other countries with highly qualified medical stuff as well as the state-of-the-art medical apparatus.

However, some doctors argue that medicine should be paid. They support this point of view by the following arguments. Firstly, free medical treatment would significantly diminish the budget of hospitals. Many health centers, which provide medicine for free, spend all their resources on patients, so they can neither purchase or install modern devices for effective treatment. Secondly, the country would not receive money from the taxation on medical services. Most governments, where medical system is unpaid, have large holes in the economy, but if medicine was paid, they would be able to increase the budget and, therefore, to develop other industries. Moreover, people would become careless about their fitness. The number of patients would increase dramatically, if they attended hospitals freely, because they would think that medical personnel would cure them anyway, but with the expensive treatment, people are more likely to look after themselves more carefully.

In conclusion, even though some patients advocate the idea of free medicine, I think it is unreasonable to make it free of charge for the above mentioned reasons.